Absentee & 1-Stop Early Voting Information

Voting Absentee

Any person who is registered to vote in North Carolina can vote an absentee-by-mail ballot or at a One-Stop voting site in their county during the designated absentee voting periods before the day of the Election. This is known as Absentee Voting.

Absentee Voting by Mail

A voter may request a ballot to be mailed during an election by requesting an absentee-by-mail ballot on the required State Absentee Ballot Request Form (PDF). The request has to be signed by the voter or a near relative of the voter requesting the ballot.

By law, a Power of Attorney is not allowed to sign for the voter. The voter must make his/her mark or signature on the request. Once the request is received, it will be processed and the ballot will be mailed.

Voters should be cautious to allow adequate time for the request to be processed and the ballot to be mailed. The Board of Elections will begin mailing ballots 50 days prior to Election Day for Primaries and General Elections and 30 days prior to Municipal Elections. Again, it is in the best interest of the voter to submit a request for an absentee-by-mail ballot as early as possible.

Military/Overseas Voters

Military/Overseas Voters can go to the Federal Voting Assistance Program website to access the proper form for requesting absentee voting materials. Requests are only good for one calendar year. Access the Federal Postcard Application form (PDF) here.

The only valid form/method for requesting absentee ballots is by mail. Note that absentee ballot requests are valid only for the election requested and only for one calendar year.

One-Stop Absentee Voting (Early Voting)

One-Stop Absentee (Early) Voting is in-person voting and is available beginning the 3rd Wednesday before and ending at 1 p.m. on the last Saturday before Election Day. Times are determined by the County Board of Elections and approved by the State Board of Elections before each election.

Printable November 2018 Voting Guide 

 Absentee Voting Periods - November 2018 General Elections

                 Absentee by Mail: Requests accepted June 2018 until Oct. 30, 2018 at 5 pm

 One-Stop Absentee Voting (Early Voting)

Starts: Wednesday, October 17 at 7 am Ends: Saturday, November 3 at 1 pm

Times:  Weekdays 7 am to 7 pm;  Saturday, Nov. 3   8 am to 1 pm

Four Locations:

1.  Board of Elections  406 Craven Street, New Bern  28560

2. Cove City Fire Department   425 South Main Street, Cove City  28523

3. New Beginnings Ministry of Faith  30 Park Lane, Havelock  28532

4. Vanceboro Fire Department   375 NC Highway 43, Vanceboro  28586

Any Craven County voter can go to any one of the One-Stop early voting sites to register and cast their vote. 

November 2018 Absentee by Mail and One Stop Reports and Statistics

For a list of Absentee Voting Requests and who has voted, visit the 2018 Absentee Data link on the North Carolina State Board of Elections and Ethics Enforcement website. Click on the file name 'absentee_county_20181106.zip' then CRAVEN_absentee_20181106.csv.

Note: This link should update before 7 AM each morning.

2018 November Absentee by mail and One-Stop Early Voting Statistics