Special Election

US Congressional District 3 - Special Primary Election (April 30) Results

Next Special Election is the US Congressional District 3      List of Candidates      

This election schedule is to fill the vacancy of the seat previously held by Walter B. Jones, Jr.:

Primary Election: April 30                          UOCAVA NOTICE       N5 Precinct Transfer       Election Notice     
2nd Primary-Republican Election: July 9                    
General Election: Sept 10

Click  for more information on running for the US Congressional District 3 

JULY 9, 2019 2ND PRIMARY-REPUBLICAN

WHO'S ALLOWED TO VOTE IN THIS 2ND PRIMARY:

The July 9, 2019 2nd Primary Election is a Republican 2nd primary, therefore the only eligible registered voters to vote in this election are registered Republicans and registered Unaffiliated voters.  Unaffiliated registered voters who participated (VOTED) in the Republican primary in April may only vote the Republican ballot in the second primary.  However, if an unaffiliated registered voter did not participate in the April primary, the unaffiliated voter may participate in the second primary.  The following registered voters are not eligible to vote in the July 9, 2019 2nd Primary: Democrat, Libertarian, Green, Constitution and Unaffiliated Voters who voted Democrat or Libertarian in the April 30 Primary. Refs: NCGS 163A-989; 8 NCAC 10B.0103

Election Schedule for 2nd Primary-Republican -July 9, 2019:

  • Absentee by mail begins: Friday, May 24, 2019
  • Voter Registration Deadline: If 2nd Primary -Friday, April 5, 2019 (no registrations allowed until after canvass date)
  • One Stop Early Voting begins: Wednesday, June 19, 2019 at 7 am
  • Last Day to Request an Absentee by Mail ballot: Tuesday, July 2, 2019
  • One Stop Early Voting ends: Friday, July 5, 2019 at 7 pm
  • Last Day to Return an Absentee By Mail Ballot: Tuesday, July 9, 2019
  • 2nd Primary Election Day: Tuesday, July 9, 2019 Polls open at 6:30 am close at 7:30 pm

One-Stop Early Voting Schedule (1 site):  

HOURS OF OPERATION  at the CRAVEN COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS ONE-STOP ROOM:

There will be no same-day registrations accepted during One-Stop for the 2nd Primary Election.



Wednesday, June 19 - Friday, June 21 (closed Sat. & Sun.June 22 & 23)

7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.

Monday, June 24 - Friday, June 28 (closed Sat. & Sun., June 29 & 30)

7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.

Monday, July 1 - Friday, July 5 (closed July 4 Holiday)

7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.

Click to view your specific sample ballot. When accessing the link, you will need to:

  • Provide your First Name, Last Name, and Year of Birth.
  • Select "Craven" under County. Hit enter.
  • Click on your name from the search results.(will be in blue)
  • Go to "Sample Ballots" in the Election Date row and click on the ballot number starting with EITHER D;R; OR L

Link to Absentee Voting Statistics  2019 Absentee            

Election Schedule for General Election (Sept. 10):

  • Absentee by mail begins: Friday, July 26, 2019
  • Voter Registration Deadline: Friday, August 16, 2019
  • One Stop Early Voting begins: Wednesday, August 21, 2019
  • Last Day to Request an Absentee by Mail ballot: Tuesday, September 3, 2019
  • One Stop Early Voting ends: Friday, September 6, 2019
  • Last Day to Return and Absentee By Mail Ballot:  Tuesday, September 10, 2019
  • General Election Day: Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Election Schedule for Primary (April 30):

  • Absentee by mail begins: Friday, March 15, 2019
  • Voter Registration Deadline:  Friday, April 5, 2019
  • One Stop Early Voting begins: Wednesday, April 10, 2019 at 7 am
  • Last Day to Request an Absentee by Mail ballot: Tuesday, April 23, 2019
  • One Stop Early Voting ends: Friday, April 26, 2019 at 7 pm
  • Last Day to Return an Absentee by Mail Ballot:  Tuesday, April 30, 2019
  • Primary Election Day: Tuesday, April 30, 2019  Polls open 6:30 am close at 7:30 pm

Filing dates: March 4 until March 8, 2019 at the NC State Board of Elections