Special Election

Next Special Election is the US Congressional District 3      List of Candidates      Candidate Emails

This election schedule is to fill the vacancy of the seat previously held by Walter B. Jones, Jr.:

Primary Election: April 30                          UOCAVA NOTICE       N5 Precinct Transfer       Election Notice     Voting Guide
General Election/2nd Primary: July 9 
General Election (if needed); Sept 10

Click here for more information on running for the US Congressional District 3 

Filing dates: March 4 until March 8, 2019 at the NC State Board of Elections

Election Schedule for Primary (April 30):

  • Absentee by mail begins: Friday, March 15, 2019
  • Voter Registration Deadline:  Friday, April 5, 2019
  • One Stop Early Voting begins: Wednesday, April 10, 2019
  • Last Day to Request an Absentee by Mail ballot: Tuesday, April 23, 2019
  • One Stop Early Voting ends: Friday, April 26, 2019
  • Last Day to Return an Absentee by Mail Ballot:  Tuesday, April 30, 2019
  • Primary Election Day: Tuesday, April 30, 2019

One-Stop Early Voting Schedule (1 site):  

HOURS OF OPERATION  at the CRAVEN COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS ONE-STOP ROOM:



Wednesday, April 10 - Friday, April 12 (closed Sat. & Sun. April 13 & 14)

7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.

Monday, April 15 - Thursday, April 18 (closed Fri. April 19 (holiday); closed Sat. & Sun., April 20 & 21)

7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.

Monday, April 22 - Friday, April 26

7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.

Click SAMPLE BALLOTS to view your specific sample ballot. When accessing the link, you will need to:

  • Provide your First Name, Last Name, and Year of Birth.
  • Select "Craven" under County.
  • Select your name from the search results.
  • Go to "Sample Ballots" in the Election Date row and click on the ballot number starting with EITHER D;R; OR L


Election Schedule for General (or 2nd Primary) (July 9):

  • Absentee by mail begins: Friday, May 24, 2019
  • Voter Registration Deadline: If 2nd Primary -Friday, April 5, 2019; If General- Friday, June 14
  • One Stop Early Voting begins: Wednesday, June 19, 2019
  • Last Day to Request an Absentee by Mail ballot: Tuesday, July 2, 2019
  • One Stop Early Voting ends: Friday, July 5, 2019
  • Last Day to Return an Absentee By Mail Ballot: Tuesday, July 9, 2019
  • General (or 2nd Primary) Election Day: Tuesday, July 9, 2019

Election Schedule for General Election (Sept. 10) (if needed):

  • Absentee by mail begins: Friday, July 26, 2019
  • Voter Registration Deadline: Friday, August 16, 2019
  • One Stop Early Voting begins: Wednesday, August 21, 2019
  • Last Day to Request an Absentee by Mail ballot: Tuesday, September 3, 2019
  • One Stop Early Voting ends: Friday, September 6, 2019
  • Last Day to Return and Absentee By Mail Ballot:  Tuesday, September 10, 2019
  • General Election Day: Tuesday, September 10, 2019