Animal Control Supervisor: Trinity Smith
Phone: (252) 637-4606
Fax: (252) 633-0925
North Carolina state law requires every dog and cat over four months of age to be vaccinated against rabies. The vaccine must be administered and certified by a licensed veterinarian. Your veterinarian can also provide duplicate tags and certificates.
In North Carolina, the animal's first rabies vaccine is good for one year and then for every three years for each subsequent vaccine.
Please be a responsible pet owner by displaying the animal's rabies tag at all times. A $25.00 penalty may apply for failing to display the tag. Failure to obtain or keep rabies vaccines up to date are subject to fines as well as court action under NCGS 130A-185. To find out about Rabies Vaccination Clinics, click here.
Get answers the most frequently asked questions about animals and rabies, prevention and treatment. Learn a little history or find out which animals have been infected in your county at http://www.epi.state.nc.us/epi/vet.html.
Search Craven Website
The Craven 300th Website Lives On!
The year of celebration marking Craven County’s 300th Anniversary is coming to an end, but the website is not. As we move forward into the next 100 years, it will be used to share information gathered during 2012 and to help further the knowledge of citizens and visitors about the county. Please continue to visit the site to view ongoing developments.