FACT SHEET

Running for North Carolina Governor,
Lieutenant Governor, and Council of State
2016 Election

1) Which offices are in the Council of State? (N.C. Const. Art. 111 §§ 7(1), 8)

Secretary of State

State Auditor

State Treasurer

Superintendent of Public Instruction
Attorney General

Commissioner of Agriculture
Commissioner of Labor
Commissioner of Insurance

2) How does a person’s name get on the ballot for the primary election?
(NCGS §8§ 163-106, 163-107, 163-108)

Candidates must file a notice of candidacy with the State Board of Elections office
and pay a filing fee of 1% of the annual salary of the office sought. Notice of
candidacy forms may be obtained from the State Board of Elections office prior to
the date on which candidates may commence filing.

A candidate must be a registered voter of the same political party in which he or she
intends to file (a person changing party affiliation must do so 90 days prior to the
date the candidate files).

At the time of filing, all candidates must file a certificate signed by the Director or
Chairperson of the County Board of Elections where they are registered to vote at
their current residential address in that county. The certification states the party with
which the person is affiliated, and that the person has not changed party affiliation in
the past 90 days.
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e The notice of candidacy includes questions about any previous felony convictions of
the candidate, and will require a further report on those convictions if there are any.
Active felons who have not had their citizenship rights fully restored (full completion
of any felony sentence, including probation, restitution, etc.) are not eligible to be
registered to vote or to run for elected office.

« A candidate may not file for more than one office in the same election.

« Candidates who have properly filed their notice of candidacy and paid the filing fee
will have their names certified by the chairman of the State Board of Elections to the
Secretary of State three days after the expiration of the filing period.

o Afiled primary candidate who remains unopposed after the close of the filing period
will be certified as his or her party’s nominee without the need for a primary.

e The winners of the party primaries (or certified nominees, if unopposed) will be listed
on the General Election ballot as the nominee of their party for the office they filed
for.

3) When is the filing period? (NCGS §163-106(c))

« Begins: Noon on the second Monday in February of the year of the election,
Monday, February 8, 2016.

« Ends: Noon on the last business day in February of the year of the election,
Monday, February 29, 2016.

4) What if a candidate wants to run as unaffiliated with a political party?
(NCGS 88 163-122, 163-123)

e If a candidate wishes to run unaffiliated, he or she should review North Carolina
General Statute § 163-122 and fact sheet on running as an unaffiliated candidate.

e If a candidate wishes to run as a write-in, they need to review North Carolina General
Statute 8 163-123 and the fact sheet on running as a write-in candidate.

5) When are the elections? (NCGS § 163-1)

o Primary: The Tuesday after the first Monday in May preceding the general election,
Tuesday, May 3, 2016.

« Second primary (will only be held in certain situations, and if requested by a
candidate): The date will depend on whether any elections for federal office require a
second primary. For more information, see North Carolina General Statute
§163-111.

o General election: The Tuesday after the first Monday in November,
Tuesday, November 8, 2016.
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6) What are the qualifications to be elected to these offices? (N.C. Const. Art. VI § 6)

« All offices: To be a candidate, must be a voter properly registered to vote in the
county of the person’s residence
e Governor and Lieutenant Governor
o At least 30 years of age
o A citizen of the United States for at least five years
o Aresident of North Carolina for at least two years
e Council of State
o At least 21 years of age
o Attorney General: Must be licensed to practice law in North Carolina

7) How long is the term for these offices?
Four years

8) What are the campaign reporting requirements? (NCGS §163-278.9)

The Campaign Reporting Act requires financial disclosure of all political

activities. Reports are filed with the State Board of Elections campaign reporting office.
The time of filing of these reports, and the types of reports will vary by the type of
campaign. Every candidate will be responsible for their compliance with campaign
reporting laws. A Candidate Campaign Finance Manual is available online on the State
Board of Elections’ website.

The law requires that the treasurer of every campaign committee receives training in
handling campaign finance reports and law. This can be accomplished online or in-person
at numerous training sessions offered by the State Board of Elections.

IMPORTANT: An organizational report must be filed with the State Board of
Elections within ten days of becoming a candidate. For these purposes, “becoming a
candidate” includes taking positive action for the purpose of obtaining nomination or
being elected, soliciting or receiving contributions, making expenditures to enhance a
campaign, or filing a notice of candidacy, whichever comes first. The report can be
found online on the State Board of Elections’ website. The State Board of Elections and
your local County Board of Elections are also available to help.
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